Baseline ICT Standards

The Baseline ICT Standards is a set of ICT skill competencies set out in four progressive Key Stages. These represent the basic level of knowledge, skills and values that pupils need in order to fully benefit from a curriculum enriched with ICT, and eventually thrive in a technology-driven society. These standards have been benchmarked against overseas ICT standards as well as curriculum and existing practices in our schools.

The standards are generic and are to be integrated into core subject areas and project work. Lesson ideas for teachers use can be found in The ICT Connection.

Included in the standards are two critical cyber wellness areas of skills and values, namely, ethical and legal use, and safe and responsible use. These skills and values are also to be integrated into learning activities wherever appropriate.

ICT Skills Attainment

At the end of Primary and Secondary education, pupils will have acquired a basic set of ICT skills, as illustrated below.

ICT Skills Attainment
click to zoom in

Stages of Baseline ICT Standards

The Baseline ICT Standards is a set of ICT skills set out in progressive stages. The first Key Stage starts at Primary 1 to 3, the second from Primary 4 to 6, the third from Secondary 1 to 2 and the last Key Stage from Secondary 3 to Pre-University. Schools have the flexibility to accelerate the skills development and ICT-enabled learning experiences according to the capability and interests of their pupils, within and across the Key Stages.

To view the Baseline ICT Standards in each stage, click on the following links:

To view the Baseline ICT Standards as a progression, click here.
To view the training guide to the Baseline ICT Standards, click here.

  • Useful Links: